Welcome to the "Indian Polo Association" Site                                                                                                                                                                             Welcome to the "Indian Polo Association" Site
IPA On Line
About us --> Brief on IPA


The IPA was established in 1892. it is registered under the Societies Registration Act XXI of 1860 (Punjab Amendment) Act 1957 as extended to the Union Territory of Delhi. The registered office of the association is co-located with the ‘B’ Squadron, 61 Cavalry, Delhi Cantt-110010.

Aims and Objectives:

The objectives of the Association are:-
a) To govern the game of Horse Polo in India.

b) To propagate the game and its bye laws in Conjunction with the Federation of International Polo.

c) To aid and promote this game both Nationally and Internationally.


The IPA is the Governing Body of Polo in India and is responsible for all laws regulating the game. It is the final authority of appeal in all matters relating to polo and is empowered to amend or, annul the existing laws of the game or, to frame new rules. The IPA is affiliated to the Federation of International Polo (FIP).

Management of the Association:

The affairs of the IPA are managed by the Office Bearers and a body of Stewards constituted biennially at a General Body Meeting which is held sometime in May/June. This is in accordance with the Memorandum and Rules and Regulations of the IPA.

IPA Stewards:


For function and administrative requirement, IPA has the following committees: -

   a) Handicapping & Rules Committee:

i) The members of the Handicapping Committee are nominated by the Stewards annually.

ii) The committee is responsible to allot handicaps to all players.

iii) The Handicapping Committee meets annually sometime in May/June at the end of the IPA Polo Calendar and if required during the mid season.

iv) The revised handicaps are effective from 1st Aug.

    b) Selection Committee:

A Selection Committee is nominated by the Stewards as per requirement. The Selection Committee for the year 2015-2016 is as under: -

Assistant Secretary:

Mr. Lal Chand is the Assistant Secretary of the IPA. He is assisted by a clerk who is paid an allowance.

Affiliated Clubs:

At present 33 clubs are affiliated to the IPA.The rate of affiliation fee is Rs. 20000/- per annum.


All individuals playing polo have to be members of the IPA through a parent club. The rate of playing membership fee is Rs. 2,000/- per annum.

Polo Calendar:

The polo year is from 1 Jul to the 30 Jun of the next year. Polo tournaments in India are played under the aegis of the IPA at various centers. The polo calendar is finalised by the Stewards every year.

Categorization of Centers:

Polo centers have been classified in three categories on the number of players, polo ponies, polo ground, and popularity of the game in those areas as under.

Cat ‘A’ : Delhi, Jaipur, Bombay and Jodhpur

Cat ‘B’ : Hyderabad, Calcutta, Bangalore, Madras and Dehra Dun

Cat ‘C’ : Manipur, Ladakh, Meerut and Patiala

Fee for conducting Polo:

The fee for conducting polo as per categorization of centers is as under: -

Cat ‘A’ : Rs. 60,000/- per week

Cat ‘B’ : Rs. 15,000/- per week

Cat ‘C’ : Exempted.


The accounts of the association are maintained by the Honorary Secretary and the accounting year is from 1 Apr to 31 Mar. The accounts are audited by the nominated Chartered Accountants. The accounts are presented and ratified in the AGM.


The association has four Trophies. These are “The President’s Cup”, “The IPA Championship”, “Indian Masters Cup“ and “Junior National Championship”. The president’s cup is played in rotation at a polo center decided by the Stewards every year. The Junior National Championship is played annually during Feb/Mar polo season in Delhi. The IPA Championship & Indian Master Cup are played annually during Nov polo season in Delhi.

Polo Grounds:

The Jaipur Polo Ground within the Delhi Race Course in on lease to the IPA from Ministry of Urban Development and Poverty Aleviation.

World Cup

The World Cup Polo Championship is being conducted under the aegis of the Federation International De Polo (FIP) to which the Indian Polo Association is affiliated. The Championship is played amongst all the polo playing countries of the world who are members of the FIP. Elimination rounds have been planned on a zonal basis and two teams from each zone play the finals. The world cup is a 14 goal tournament and is played after every three years.

Based on the strength of polo players, polo playing countries have been grouped into four Zones for elimination rounds :-

a) Zone ‘A’ - South America

b) Zone ‘B’ - North America

c) Zone ‘C’ - Europe

d) Zone ‘D’ - Oceania, Africa and Asia.

The IX World Cup Championship was held from 10th to 21st October 2011 in Argentina.

International Polo Series

The IPA organizes international polo series with various countries on reciprocal basis. The IPA, had organized several international polo series between India and Argentina, South Africa, New Zealand, Spain and Australia since Nov 2004 which were a great success.

About IPA

Home | About us| Sponsorship | Clubs | Fixtures | Rules & Regs | Intl. Fixtures | IPA Events | History |Contact us

Website Designing, Web Hosting and SEO Services by : Ani International, Jaipur